In recent years my participation in JFK forums has declined a good bit,  to a large extent because the same subjects are debated time after time and after researching the assassination for some twenty five years, I’ve seen enough to know how most of the dialog is going to go.  However I still do visit occasionally and respond to questions on some Facebook groups – to the extent that space allows.  What I’ve be noticing lately is that even among the most informed groups, some of the information which has surfaced over the years is not widely known.  Certainly some of that has to do with individuals not having been immersed in all the political assassinations of the sixties or following the subject over as long a span of time.

The net result is certain things that initially were either very mysterious or seemed to be earthshaking seem to emerge time and again – and since its all on the internet that makes sense given that nothing really “ages” or for that matter “dies”.  I joined a conversation the other day, with some very informed folks, who were discussing David Morales – a long time special interest of mine, and his presence at the Ambassador Hotel at the time of RFK’s assassination.  Obviously the talk was that his presence confirmed the attack as a CIA covert operation.

The thing is that the perceived fact of his presence there rests in research and conclusions which eventually were shown to have been incorrect, acknowledged as such even by its originator.  Yet its still circulating – and give that it was very persuasive in the beginning, it remains convincing if you don’t know the rest of the story.  Fortunately some very good researchers pursued the original work, and their efforts (plus further revelations including the actual location of the individuals falsely identified, including confirmation of their presence at of the hotel that evening) needs to be more widely known.  Fortunately a good bit of that research is available on the Mary Ferrell Foundation site, at the link below:

https://www.maryferrell.org/pages/Essay_-_The_BBCs_Flawed_RFK_Story.html

I encourage all those interested in either Morales or the assassination of Robert Kennedy to take a look, as time permits I plan to address a few other  similar items in the future.

 

About Larry Hancock

Larry Hancock is a leading historian-researcher in the JFK assassination. Co-author with Connie Kritzberg of November Patriots and author of the 2003 research analysis publication titled also Someone Would Have Talked. In addition, Hancock has published several document collections addressing the 112th Army Intelligence Group, John Martino, and Richard Case Nagell. In 2000, Hancock received the prestigious Mary Ferrell New Frontier Award for the contribution of new evidence in the Kennedy assassination case. In 2001, he was also awarded the Mary Ferrell Legacy Award for his contributions of documents released under the JFK Act.

6 responses »

  1. Marv Kramer says:

    After so many years, many of the advantages from an in-depth investigation of the JFK assassination are gone. Its all been said. There’s nothing new to ad. Not now. How could it be otherwise?

    Fortunately, for many of us, you have branched out into other areas: especially in providing a greater understanding of how intelligence organizations operate.

    • It is hard to add anything new, certainly in terms of actual evidence. In fact the most recent research and findings in regard to criminal evidence tend to bring into question some of the “hard” evidence initially introduced…things like the bullet composition findings, even issues of subjectivity in fingerprint evidence. The work on the original medical evidence brings further question to how much it can be relied on, or at least the official interpretations can be relied on. So if anything, we lose ground in that sense….no new solutions, just further doubt. On the other hand, document research and historical research is telling us more about the relationships of certain suspects, about their contacts circa 1963 and allowing new and more detailed conspiracy scenarios – work by Newman, Simpich, Blunt etc has given us insights that might have allowed the crime to be solved back in the 1970’s – Gaeton Fonzi told me he felt that would have been feasible if he had only known what we know now…and if a real criminal investigator had been running the HSCA, not Blakey.

      I suppose the good news is that the JFK assassination and the other political murders of the sixties have “schooled” us, teaching us we have to understand the full context of the event to deal with it…and teaching us to apply a healthy dose of skepticism in doing so, equally in regards to both the official story lines and to the sources that tell us exactly what we wanted to hear…grin. Its certainly an education, in branching out I’m learning more and more about different intelligence groups and how they operate in the real world, which is generally quite different than what you see in the action movies. More and more I’m coming to understand that if you don’t fully appreciate what their normal “routine” is, then things look mysterious that shouldn’t and you can’t detect the real, important “anomalies”.

  2. Avinash says:

    What is your view of the Prayer Man theory?

    • Well for starters I’ve long been interested in the observations that place Oswald on the first floor having lunch and afterwards in the area inside the doorway. And I have lots of problems with the official timing offered by the WC in regard to the second floor encounter and to the second floor encounter period. If it happened, it happened much later than the official time line – in my view. None of that specifically has to do with “prayer man” but it does hold open the idea that Oswald might have been at least in the area of the doorway at the time the Altgens photo was taken. Given that, I’m really interested in the “prayer man” ID but so far the photo work by itself is not conclusive, to me at least. The image is just not good enough. Actually even if it were conclusive in that it was not Oswald, my other concerns about his location and the encounter would still exist. So – I’m following the prayer man work and interested in it, and remain very skeptical of the entire WC scenario of Oswald coming down from the sixth floor. I’d love to see the image confirmed one way or the other and if it turned out to be Oswald I would not shocked….I’ve also noted before that in terms of conspiracy, simply having a rifle traceable to Oswald found on the Sixth Floor would have been enough to connect him to a conspiracy (even if he had been somewhere other than on the sixth floor at the time of the shooting). And connecting Oswald to the shooting would have introduced Castro/Cuban/Soviet connections as well.

  3. Hi Larry!

    I’m curious which FB groups you spend time in. I have been reading mostly forums and websites, and I’d love to add a few new places to talk to thoughtful people.

    Best,
    Chris

    • Hi Chris, honestly I don’t spend a lot of time in forums but I do visit a couple when I get tagged in a post or with a question. I need to retrieve the specific names of those forums for you and will pass on that information. I do routinely visit the Education Forum to see if there is a post in my areas of study that I can help with but post only infrequently there. Frankly there is too much animosity on most of the forums for my taste and I find far too much incorrect information in sources like YouTube. I spend most of my online time in a handful of blogs and specific web sites…these days mostly on national security and military blogs but I’m doing a lot of work on crypts so I routinely visit the Mary Ferrell site. After twenty five years I’ve established a pretty good network of researchers I rely on so when something comes up I tend to turn to email rather than forums. I’m always happy to answer questions or chat on email but generally speaking my forum days are in the past. If you have a specific topic email me and I can probably refer you to a good source if its not in my area larryjoe@westok.net

Leave a Reply

