My good news is that its time to introduce my newest book to everyone who has followed my research and writing through the last couple of decades – including the six works that precede it.  If you have, then you know that my interests revolve around Cold War history and in particular the national security aspects of that history – ranging from the political assassinations of the 1950s and 1960s through much broader subjects including covert/deniable warfare, command and control during national crises and the national intelligence community in general.

 

Coming to even a basic understanding of those subjects, and the functioning of national intelligence/security at an operational level has been a long slog – and a real strain on my library, my best estimate is that in addition to document research I have cycled a minimum of six hundred books through my shelves since the late 1990’s.  Unfortunately that counts the ones still stashed behind various pieces of furniture – sigh.

 

Having said that, my newest work has actually been done in parallel with all the others. In checking end notes I found emails related to it going back to 2003; it had not seemed nearly that long. Of course the source materials themselves, part of that immense book collection, go back to the first acquisitions about 1964. And with that, here we are and the new book is titled:

 

“Unidentified – The National Intelligence Problem of UFOs

 

Yes, it is a UFO book. To be more accurate it is a study of various types of intelligence practices and the response to unidentified aerial objects by  the intelligence community – beginning during World War II and into the 1980’s.  It covers areas of that intelligence organizations and activities untouched in my previous books and gets into some new and revealing aspects of inter-service rivalry (that will be more familiar, it’s something I examined in a different context in Surprise Attack).

 

In other words, this is a book about national intelligence and a problem that for various reasons was not assigned to the one group that might have been able to deal with it.  I chronicle and explain that failure – the problem is that leaving it at that just was not enough.  And that led me to explore the area of intelligence work that does exist to tackle such problems – referred to by a number of different terms including “strategic analysis”, “indications analysis” or in military terms “threat and warnings intelligence”.

 

I had been exposed to a few of the techniques during my business career, the ones used in business and marketing planning. Studying the practices from a military standpoint was an education in itself. The result is that the book includes a series of chapters presenting that analysis and what I found to be some pretty interesting indications related to over three decades of vetted observations from military, security and scientific personnel –  as to what those are, I’ll leave that for the book.

 

The book will be available in Amazon and for order by the end of June, I will post a bit more on it here as that happens but I anticipate a separate blog to discuss it since its only one of my interests in the area of national security. This is just a bit of advance notice before the issue of the actual press release and the arrival of the first interviews online.  I hope it sounds interesting and I think it will prove unlike any other book on the subject you have ever encountered.

About Larry Hancock

Larry Hancock is a leading historian-researcher in the JFK assassination. Co-author with Connie Kritzberg of November Patriots and author of the 2003 research analysis publication titled also Someone Would Have Talked. In addition, Hancock has published several document collections addressing the 112th Army Intelligence Group, John Martino, and Richard Case Nagell. In 2000, Hancock received the prestigious Mary Ferrell New Frontier Award for the contribution of new evidence in the Kennedy assassination case. In 2001, he was also awarded the Mary Ferrell Legacy Award for his contributions of documents released under the JFK Act.

5 responses »

  1. caesarx says:

    Congrats on the new book, Larry!

    Happy to order it when it’s available.

    All the best, Chris

    >

    • Thanks Chris, I’ll certainly be posting updates including the press release and information on availability. The book is done, its just going through the standard printing and distribution process including getting it into bookstore lists, on Amazon and other similar outlets, etc. Sometimes this last push feels like the longest (although end notes and citations are close competition in terms of trying an authors patience..grin).

      I’m pretty sure that anyone who has ever had an interest in this subject will find something new, I know I did and I’ve been following it since 1964, including being an early member of NICAP and APRO. Of course as with most history, what has become available during the past couple of decades tells a story that was totally obscured at the time. And in that regard, I have to pay major tribute to some extremely dedicated historical researchers in this subject area. As with JFK research a cadre of very serious and persistent people have made immense strides in obtaining documents and primary source material.

      More to come.. Larry

  2. Derrick says:

    As always.. really looking forward to another book by you, always the best reading

    • Thanks Derrick, much appreciated! I know this seems like a real change of pace but I can promise it will lead into areas of intelligence and national security I had not explored in the previous books – it was certainly educational for me. It was also challenging following the changes in the national security infrastructure during all these decades – just keeping the names, titles and chains of command straight over some five decades was a real feat.

      I should also add that for folks who have had some interest in this subject, I worked at making this book a true research tool as well. The citations and end notes are extensive and we put in web links whenever possible. As with JFK research, there are some serious and dedicated historical professionals involved in UFO studies – and they have creating extensive resources, both in terms of documents and technical studies. Of course the challenge is finding the really good ones and hopefully “Unidentified” will be a real help in that regard.

      I’d also add that as with my other books, on JFK and MLK in particular, if you don’t find a particular lead or incident or source mentioned it doesn’t mean I didn’t look at it, it just means that either I wasn’t comfortable with what I found or felt that it was not within the focus of the book – and when you are covering these sorts of time spans, focus is critical.

      Hope you enjoy it, I’ll look forward to chatting about it either here or via email.

  3. Anthony M says:

    Look forward to reading it. We do seem to have strongly overlapping interests although that subject is if anything even more ambiguous (and even more of a mess in terms of the utter nonsense that proliferates on it) than JFK research.
    If your track record is anything to go by I suspect you’ll have for a thorough and level headed job on it though.

Leave a Reply

